Overnights

Something that has been on my mind recently is the issue of leaving the kids for an overnight.  I have only done this once and it was just for one night, a trip to Las Vegas for work two years ago (kids were with Steve).  Other than being in the hospital having a child, I have never been away from them for a night.  I know it would be good for the soul, to have a good night’s rest and to wake up to silence.  I know this.  But on the other hand, I can not see shuffling my kids off to someone else so I can enjoy myself.  Seems downright selfish.  I know there has to be a middle line – it’s good for the kids to sleep somewhere else, get them used to different environments, etc., etc.  I guess my issue is getting over the overwhelming guilt of disrupting their schedule and their comfort zone for my own enjoyment.  I know people shuffle their kids off each weekend so they can go to concerts, out to dinner, etc., etc.  I just can’t do that.  I want my kids to know that I am always here, their home is their home and we are a strong, solid, family unit.  I know it would be good for all of us to shake things up a bit and I don’t know, maybe once a quarter do an overnight, but I just can’t bring myself to do it.  And oh, wait, right, Penny still won’t take a bottle 🙂  So, the issue will be on hold until she is about a year, so I have more time to think about it.  If you have any thoughts/advice/agree/disagree, please let me know!

Leave a Reply

