This can not be real

Ok, so first off,  apologies for not posting lately.  But this was worth waiting for.

Did you all see this post on the WSJ’s The Juggle last week?  Please do click on it.  Yes, it’s Dr. Laura talking about SAHMs.  Fine, we all have choices to make.  Key word is choice, right?

HOWEVER, some of her comments are truly disturbing:

“When your husband comes home, wrap your body around him at the door and look at his eyes. What people need to learn is that it’s not about the drudgery of housework — it’s about being at home for all of those incredible moments that make your life more valuable than the person who replaced you at work.”

This is not even worth a comment, but COME ON.  If you are home all day with the kids, I am sure your disposition will not be ammenable to the above statement.

“For everything in life, you have to make a priority list. This must be done. If we truly believe in something and cherish it, we find a way to make it happen. Women go from making seven-figure salaries to staying at home, and things just start to be less important.”

Right, so I guess paying the mortgage becomes “less important”.  Interesting.

I waited a week before I posted about this because I, along withe some friends of mine, we pretty riled up.  Still am to an extent.

And hey, what about those of us who WANT to work because we LIKE OUR JOBS?  What would Dr. Laura say to that?

2 thoughts on “This can not be real

  1. I totally agree with you. I had been a SAHM for five years and about a year ago made the decision to go back to work part time. Then, I had to go full-time because my husband was laid off in December. The thing is, I don’t know if I really want to cut back my hours if my husband finds a new job. There are a number of reasons for this, but one of them is that I really, really like my job.

Leave a Reply

