Fair

This word, or subject rather, is something that is always on my mind, and for a number of reasons,  even more so lately.  Fair, as defined at Dictionary.com, means free from bias, dishonesty or injustice.   I guess one of life’s saying’s is “life is not fair”.  However, I have always thought it should be.  Why woudn’t it be?  We live in the United States of America, founded on freedom and justice.  And we still can’t figure out how to be fair.  It amazes me that people are still treated unfairly in the year 2007. 

I realize that there are a number of sociological reasons and theories WHY this happens.  But on a real basic, between you and me level, why aren’t things fair?  Is it because of money and the rich want to get richer while the rest of us do not?  I suppose every situation is different and there is not one answer.  And to be truthful there are a lot of things in life that would equate with not being fair.  Like, why do some children get sick and others don’t?  Some of these things are more important than others. 

I am talking about fairness on a day-to-day basis.  Like cutting in traffic.  That is SO not fair.  Men getting paid more than women (with all else being equal), that is also like SO not fair.  I suppose nothing will ever be equal, ’tis what makes the world go ’round, I don’t know.  But I do know that I have been struggling to get things to be fair for a very long time.  From the time I was a child and trying to make sure that chores were divided up evenly between my brother and I – which NEVER happened – to now where I am just trying to drive down the highway without getting cut off.  I hope I never go to the other side and start to be puposefully unfair, just to spite the others.  That would not be a good way to live.  So, I guess I need to come to terms with the fact that life is simply not fair and there is not one gosh darn thing I can do about it.

So, I suppose I will get over, but I keep challenging myself with this, and can’t seem to just accept the way things are.  At my core, I just know that it’s not right to not be just and fair.  It’s an internal struggle and I know, I need to let it go.  But, I can’t. 

Leave a Reply

