Mike Wallace

Mike Wallace.  A name I will never forget.  As I previously mentioned, I interned at CBS News during college.  At lunchtime, I would go to the kiosk, grab lunch and eat with my intern coordinator.  Anyway, the kiosk was on the 9th floor of the 555 building, the same floor as 60 Minutes and what was once Eye to Eye with Connie Chung.   One day, I was in there, getting my usual, bagel with cream cheese, Diet Snapple, an apple and a yogurt, when this wrinkly old man walks in.  He took one look at me, looked me up and down, and was like, “YOU’RE going to eat THAT?  Do you realize how many young people like you are overweight?”.  I cried immediately.  I was 19 years-old, and never having watched 60 Minutes, had no idea who this old man was, but I couldn’t stop crying.  Of course, I was a bit fluffy, similar to how I look now post-baby, but still.  Who was this man and why did he feel the need to be so mean?  Well, without further ado, he of course left and went back to his cave.  And the little man behind the desk, Benny, handed me some tissues, said not to let him get to me, and oh, by the way, did I know who that was.  Of course I didn’t, and even after Benny told me I could care less.  So, back in the intern coordinator’s office, I was telling her the story, still crying of course, and her phone rang.  It was Mike Wallace’s secretary calling my boss to tell her to tell me that he is sorry.  He didn’t even have the decency to call himself.  He is what I call a Royal Tool.

Leave a Reply

