Dan Rather at SXSW

Cnet’s coverage here.   He makes some good points, my favorite is the quote:”What happens on the streets of Baghdad or Kabul does matter on Main Street.”

Very true.  Sometimes we forget.

I like Dan Rather.  I remember when I first met him, twelve years ago.  I was an intern at CBS News.  Back then they actually had an OJ Simpson Unit and I interned there and at 48 Hours.  During the trial, the court transcripts would come into the newsroom and I would have to pull them from the “wire” and hand them to Dan Rather.  Big whoop, I know.  But technology has changed everything!  I remember opening up viewer mail for show ideas for 48 Hours.  Imaging that.   I have a good Mike Wallace story to share too, perhaps at lunch I will post about it.

Leave a Reply

